House of the Dragon cast: Who’s in and who’s out on House of the Dragon?

House of the Dragon is about to undergo its biggest casting shakeup of the season thus far with a wave of new actors coming in to replace favorites from the season.

The cast of House of the Dragon is going to look quite different in the second half of the series. While casting changes are nothing new to Game of Thrones fans, some fans might find themselves struggling to keep up when the sixth episode of its prequel series arrives thanks to a major time jump on the horizon.

Across the first few episodes of the show, there have been some minor time jumps. Because the time jumps haven’t been too extreme, the writers have been able to utilize the same actors for the show’s key characters.

However, following the fifth episode, House of the Dragon is about to jump ahead by its biggest time jump yet as it skips ahead ten years. With such a large time jump coming, the writers have had no choice but to bid farewell to several members of the House of the Dragon cast.

Who’s leaving House of the Dragon?

The biggest casting departures heading into the sixth episode of House of the Dragon are Milly Alcock and Emily Carey, who have been delivering breakout performances this season as Rhaenyra Targaryen and Alicent Hightower respectively. Sadly, the pair aren’t the only actors who will be leaving the show due to the time jump as many of the show’s younger cast will be leaving.

Who will be leaving House of the Dragon as we enter the second half of the season with the arrival of episode 6? Here is a breakdown of the actors who will be leaving the House of the Dragon cast following the time jump:

  • Milly Alcock as Rhaenyra Targaryen
  • Emily Carey as Alicent Hightower
  • Matthew Carver as Laenor Velaryon
  • Theo Nate as Laenor Velaryon
  • Nova Foueillis-Mosé as Laena Velaryon
  • Savannah Steyn as Laena Velaryon
  • Jake and Rory Heard as Aegon II Targaryen
  • Leo Hart as Jacaerys Velaryon
  • Harvey Sadler as Lucerys Velaryon

Who’s joining the House of the Dragon cast? (And who are they playing?)

Following its ten-year time jump, House of the Dragon will be introducing a number of new faces to the cast including older versions of beloved characters such as Rhaenyra Targaryen and Alicent Hightower. However, those are just two of the characters about to be taken over by new actors joining the House of the Dragon cast.

Interestingly, it seems there are some characters who will have a few new faces playing them as the season progresses with new actors taking over the roles in episode 6 for unknown windows of time before the roles are taken over by older actors.

Who will be joining the House of the Dragon cast in the upcoming episodes? Here is a breakdown of the new faces coming to the show in the upcoming episodes:

  • Emma D’Arcy as Rhaenyra Targaryen
  • Olivia Cooke as Alicent Hightower
  • John Macmillian as Laenor Velaryon
  • Nanna Blondell as Laena Velaryon
  • Ty Tennant as Aegon II Targaryen
  • Tom Glynn-Carney as  Aegon II Targaryen
  • Evie Allen as Helaena Targaryen
  • Phia Saban as Helaena Targaryen
  • Leo Ashton as Aemond Targaryen
  • Ewan Mitchell as Aemond Targaryen
  • Leo Hart as Jacaerys Velaryon
  • Harry Collett as Jacaerys Velaryon
  • Harvey Sadler as Lucerys Velaryon
  • Elliot Grihault as Lucerys Velaryon
  • Shani Smethurst as Baela Targaryen
  • Bethany Antonia as Baela Targaryen
  • Eva Ossei-Gerning as Rhaena Targaryen
  • Phoebe Campbell as Rhaena Targaryen

Which House of the Dragon cast members aren’t leaving?

While there is a chance these characters could be killed off before the end of the series, depart via another time jump or other storyline, the following cast members are expected to remain on the show moving forward in Episode 6 and beyond:

  • Paddy Considine as King Viserys I Targaryen
  • Matt Smith as Prince Daemon Targaryen
  • Rhys Ifans as Ser Otto Hightower
  • Steve Toussaint as Lord Corlys Velaryon
  • Eve Best as Princess Rhaenys Targaryen
  • Sonoya Mizuno as Mysaria
  • Fabien Frankel as Ser Criston Cole
  • Graham McTavish as Ser Harrold Westerling
  • Matthew Needham as Larys Strong
  • Jefferson Hall as Lord Jason Lannister and Ser Tyland Lannister