Where does Andor land on the Star Wars timeline?

Cassian Andor (Diego Luna) in Lucasfilm's ANDOR, exclusively on Disney+. ©2022 Lucasfilm Ltd. & TM. All Rights Reserved.
Cassian Andor (Diego Luna) in Lucasfilm's ANDOR, exclusively on Disney+. ©2022 Lucasfilm Ltd. & TM. All Rights Reserved. /

Rebel agitator, Cassian Andor, is at the forefront of his titular Star Wars series. Where does Disney Plus’ Andor fit into the franchise’s chronology?

The previous Star Wars series, Obi-Wan Kenobi, placed the beloved Jedi into a singular spotlight, years after having been featured alongside other heroes in many movies and animated television shows, and now Andor pivots focus to a protagonist with dubious principles; one who has only previously surfaced in Rogue One: A Star Wars Story. Top billing for that film went to Felicity Jones, although Diego Luna could be considered the male lead.

Diego Luna is a long way from the star power of Ewan McGregor, but his accomplishments in modern masterworks like Y Tu Mama Tambien and Milk pave the way to his commercial ascendancy in Andor. The types of stories presented in Kenobi and Andor are purposefully contrasting. Just like Rogue One stood high among the Star Wars filmography for its granular characters, exhaustive perspective on galactic politics, and uncompromising plot developments, Andor is shaping up to do exactly the same for Disney Plus’ Star Wars content.

Both series date themselves in between the prequel trilogy and original trilogy, and even more specifically, between Solo and Rogue One. Obviously Andor is itself a prequel to Rogue One, but it is also notable to indicate that the newest Disney Plus hit falls right next to Star Wars Rebels on the timeline. This means that characters from the animated show can pop up in Andor. Forest Whitaker is expected to reprise his Saw Gerrera role from both Rebels (as a voice actor) and Rogue One, while Genevieve O’Reilly magnificently returns to play Senator Mon Mothma in Andor’s fourth chapter.

Where Andor takes place in the Star Wars timeline

Even if Star Wars Rebels and Andor have some overlap in terms of their primary plots’ time period, Andor will likely take fans as close to the beginning of Rogue One as possible.

Currently, this is how the Star Wars chronology roughly lines up:

  • The Phantom Menace
  • Attack of the Clones
  • The Clone Wars
  • Revenge of the Sith
  • The Bad Batch
  • Solo
  • Obi-Wan Kenobi
  • Rebels
  • Andor
  • Rogue One
  • A New Hope
  • The Empire Strikes Back
  • Return of the Jedi
  • The Mandalorian
  • The Book of Boba Fett
  • Resistance (season 1)
  • The Force Awakens
  • The Last Jedi
  • Resistance (season 2)
  • The Rise of Skywalker

Andor’s flashbacks serve as a nice subplot for the narrative and likely take place toward the end of the Clone Wars, near the fall of the Republic. But for the purposes of the timeline above, the central storyline of Andor fits between Rebels and Rogue One. The Book of Boba Fett was treated similarly, after the miniseries concluded, even though its extensive flashback sequences preceded The Mandalorian. This is merely to construct a more concise chronological interpretation.

After its three-episode premiere on Wednesday, September 21st, Andor releases new installments on Disney Plus every Wednesday.

Next. The Mandalorian season 3 release. dark

What do you think of Andor so far? Are you excited for the remaining chapters to drop? Let us know in the comments below.