All 9 RWBY volumes ranked from worst to best

All 9 volumes of RWBY have their individual strengths and weaknesses, but which volume comes out on top as the best one so far?

RWBY - ©2024 Rooster Teeth
RWBY - ©2024 Rooster Teeth /
5 of 10
RWBY - ©2024 Rooster Teeth /

6. Volume 6

Volume 6 lands at number 6, ironically, and it's easy to see why it's both loved and critiqued by fans.

On one hand, this volume is a rollercoaster of emotions and revelations, truly where the series takes off and is packed with moments that leave fans gasping. It dives deep into the lore of Remnant, unveiling secrets that were hinted at in previous volumes. This includes the much-anticipated backstory of Salem and Ozpin, which adds layers of complexity to the entire RWBY narrative.

Volume 6 also brings some of the most visually stunning and emotionally charged fight scenes, like the epic battle with the giant Grimm. There's a sense of growth and maturity in the storytelling that's hard to miss, as the characters face their inner demons and come to terms with harsh truths. It's like watching a puzzle slowly coming together, with each piece revealing a part of the larger picture.

However, the reasons Volume 6 doesn't rank higher are just as important. For some fans, the pacing of this volume feels uneven, with certain episodes packed with action and revelations while others seemed to drag on, focusing more on character development and dialogue. While the deeper exploration of characters and their backstories is a strength, it also led to less screen time for action sequences, leaving some fans missing the high-energy battles that defined earlier volumes.

Also, some plot lines introduced in this volume felt unresolved or rushed, leaving a sense of incompleteness. It's like being served a delicious meal with one or two ingredients missing – still enjoyable, but you can't help but notice what's lacking. In the grand scheme of RWBY, Volume 6 is a solid entry, rich in story and character development, but it doesn't quite reach the heights of perfection achieved in other volumes, but this is where the series as a whole finally finds its footing.