15 Box Office Records For Batman V Superman: Dawn Of Justice To Break

6 of 16

5. Top 10 Feature Films Released in IMAX

Current Rankings

  1. Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015) – $923,678,884

  2. Avatar (2009) – $760,507,625
  3. Jurassic World (2015) – $652,270,625
  4. The Avengers (2012) – $623,357,910
  5. The Dark Knight (2008) – $534,858,444
  6. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015) – $459,005,868
  7. The Dark Knight Rises (2012) – $448,139,099
  8. The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2013) – $424,668,047
  9. Toy Story 3 (2010) – $415,004,880
  10. Iron Man 3 (2013) – $409,013,994

As IMAX releases for feature films become and more common — along with 3D — their higher priced tickets will definitely be a factor in calculating box office hauls.  The most recent juggernaut to climb to the top of Mount IMAX is Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015).  I think the film’s “force awakening” is an understatement.  The movie not only looked like it was “awake”, but it looked like it ingested Red Bull, Jolt Cola, and a squadron of espressos.  At almost $1 billion, it beat out the previous IMAX record holder — Avatar (2009).

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice actually has a serious shot in this category.  Many of the film’s action sequences were shot in IMAX and Warner Bros. is still considering  a special release in 70mm format for theaters equipped to handle actual film stock.  Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, with its larger-than-life visual effects, is a film that should feel right at home with IMAX.  If this film doesn’t break the top ten of this ranking, I don’t know what film will … Okay, maybe Captain America: Civil War.

Next: Do blockbusters have to be in the summer?