15 Box Office Records For Batman V Superman: Dawn Of Justice To Break

8 of 16

7. Top 10 Opening Days

Current Rankings

  1. Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015) – $119,119,282

  2. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 (2011) – $91,071,119
  3. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015) – $84,424,532
  4. Jurassic World (2015) – $81,953,950
  5. The Avengers (2012) – $80,813,985
  6. The Dark Knight Rises (2012) – $75,754,897
  7. The Twilight Saga: New Moon (2009) – $72,703,754
  8. The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1 (2011) – $71,642,526
  9. The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 2 (2012) – $71,167,839
  10. The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2013) – $70,950,136

Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015) again takes the top position in this category.  It’s not that much of a surprise though.  When tickets went on sale for the first 24 hours, Fandango’s servers actually crashed from all the traffic.  To say that this movie was “highly anticipated” is an understatement.  With an almost 40-year legacy and characters who still endure in modern times, you can bet that every single fan wanted to be the first to see the latest installment that tells of a story from “A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away …”

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice contains three of the most iconic characters — Superman, Batman, and Wonder Woman — in not only DC lore, but American pop culture.  Superman is the first and most famous superhero.  His “S” sigil is the second most identifiable symbol after the Christian cross.  If we’re talking about legacies here, this movie has it in spades.  Opening day for Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice will be huge, and it will easily crack the top ten.  The number one position in this category is certainly within this film’s grasp.

Next: It's a rating for the cool kids in elementary school