The Marvel Cinematic Universe May Remove “Phases” Concept


The Marvel Cinematic Universe may cease the use of “Phases” after Avengers 4.

More from Movies

A shake-up is coming to the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Since Iron Man (2008)—the film inaugurating the MCU—was released, fans have been accustomed to seeing the studio’s slate of movies released in phases, which designated story arcs that concluded in ensemble Avengers films.

Via Collider, we have news that the concept of “Phases” may be going out the door after Avengers 4. When Collider spoke with Marvel Studios president Kevin Feige, they got some key hints of how the future of the MCU may be structured:

"“… Certainly as we get to Infinity War there is a sense of a climax if not a conclusion to, by the time we’re at untitled Avengers 4, the 22 movies that will have encompassed the first three phases of the MCU. And what happens after that will be very different. I don’t know if it’s Phase 4, it might be a new thing.”"

Feige emphasized that the studios’ focus right now is with the eight films that are currently in production or planned. However, he did tease a dramatic change in the status quo:

"“We have an idea [of what the MCU looks like post-Infinity War], and it’s gonna be very, very different.”"

We really can’t help but notice that Feige’s hints sound a lot like our April Fools’ prank this year—not really the part about the X-Men joining the MCU, but the part about renaming the “Phases.” Hey, sometimes life imitates art.

Next: Avengers: Infinity War and Avengers 4 will not be filmed simultaneously

Avengers: Infinity War Production Details

Avengers: Infinity War—No Official Synopsis Available

Avengers: Infinity War will be released on May 4, 2018

It will be directed by Anthony Russo & Joe Russo, written by Christopher Markus & Stephen McFeely, and star Robert Downey Jr. as Tony Stark / Iron Man, Josh Brolin as Thanos, Mark Ruffalo as Bruce Banner / Hulk, Tom Hiddleston as Loki, Chris Evans as Steve Rogers, Chris Hemsworth as Thor, Jeremy Renner as Clint Barton / Hawkeye, Chris Pratt as Peter Quill / Star-Lord, Elizabeth Olsen as Wanda Maximoff / Scarlet Witch, Sebastian Stan as Bucky Barnes / Winter Soldier, Benedict Cumberbatch as Stephen Strange, Paul Bettany as Vision, Samuel.L Jackson as Nick Fury, Cobie Smulders as Mria Hill, Benedict Wong as Wong, Zoe Saldana as Gamora, Karen Gillan as Nebula, Vin Diesel as Groot, Dave Bautista as Drax the Destroyer, Bradley Cooper as the Voice of Rocket and Sean Gunn as the Motion Reference of Rocket, Pom Klementieff as Mantis, Scarlett Johansson as Natasha Romanoff / Black Widow, Benicio del Toro as Taneleer Tivan / The Collector, Tom Holland as Peter Parker / Spider-Man, Anthony Mackie as Sam Wilson / Falcon, and Chadwick Boseman as T’Challa / Black Panther, with Terry Notary in an undisclosed role.