Avengers 4 Will Not Be Subtitled “Infinity Gauntlet”


Recent rumors claiming Avengers 4’s subtitle being “Infinity Gauntlet” have now been debunked.

One thing is for sure, Marvel fans are very detail-oriented. You really have to be careful of what you say around them. Any one slip-up can be misinterpreted. And that’s what happened when Zoe Saldana accidentally said, “Gauntlet,” during an interview where she talked about filming for Avengers 4.

Fans started to speculate what she meant by that word. The consensus was Avengers 4‘s official title will be “Avengers: Infinity Gauntlet.” We now know that’s not true. But like all things propagated by the internet, it’s hard to put that genie back in the bottle.

More from Movies

Today, via Yahoo Movies UK, Guardians of the Galaxy franchise director James Gunn stepped in to contain some of that damage with a few words of his own.

"“It’s not the title … My guess is that Zoe just misspoke. I’ll talk to Zoe today, but I would imagine that is just Zoe misspeaking and saying ‘Infinity Gauntlet’ instead of ‘Infinity War’.”"

We’ll buy it, James … for now. Marvel Studios could be pulling one of the sneakiest and smartest marketing campaigns ever. What better way to get fans excited than to slip hints here and there and then publicly deny them. It’ll only cause more chatter. One thing Marvel Studios does right is their planning—and the overall Marvel Cinematic Universe is proof that the studio never does things by accident.

Next: Kevin Feige hints at plans for the next stage of the MCU

Production Details

Avengers: Infinity War—No Official Synopsis Available

Avengers: Infinity War will be released on May 4, 2018

It will be directed by Anthony Russo & Joe Russo, written by Christopher Markus & Stephen McFeely, and star Robert Downey Jr. as Tony Stark / Iron Man, Josh Brolin as Thanos, Mark Ruffalo as Bruce Banner / Hulk, Tom Hiddleston as Loki, Chris Evans as Steve Rogers, Chris Hemsworth as Thor, Jeremy Renner as Clint Barton / Hawkeye, Chris Pratt as Peter Quill / Star-Lord, Elizabeth Olsen as Wanda Maximoff / Scarlet Witch, Sebastian Stan as Bucky Barnes / Winter Soldier, Benedict Cumberbatch as Stephen Strange, Paul Bettany as Vision, Samuel.L Jackson as Nick Fury, Cobie Smulders as Mria Hill, Benedict Wong as Wong, Zoe Saldana as Gamora, Karen Gillan as Nebula, Vin Diesel as Groot, Dave Bautista as Drax the Destroyer, Bradley Cooper as the Voice of Rocket and Sean Gunn as the Motion Reference of Rocket, Pom Klementieff as Mantis, Scarlett Johansson as Natasha Romanoff / Black Widow, Benicio del Toro as Taneleer Tivan / The Collector, Tom Holland as Peter Parker / Spider-Man, Anthony Mackie as Sam Wilson / Falcon, and Chadwick Boseman as T’Challa / Black Panther, with Terry Notary in an undisclosed role.