Supergirl: Chris Browning Cast As Reactron


Via The Hollywood Reporter, we have confirmation that Chris Browning has been cast in the role of villain Ben Krull, a.k.a. Reactron, in CBS’s Supergirl.  THR gave this description of the character:

"Ben Krull (aka Reactron) is a deadly adversary of Superman’s from Metropolis who wears an armored suit powered by nuclear energy. Never able to defeat his rival, Krull has come to National City to get revenge on the Man of Steel by killing his cousin, Supergirl."

Chris Browning started his career in 1987 and has made appearances in multiple television shows and films.  His notable role has been the character Gogo in FX’s hit show Sons of Anarchy.

Created by writer Paul Kupperberg and artist Carmine Infantino, Reactor first appeared in Daring New Adventures of Supergirl #8 (June 1983).  The character started out as a US Army sergeant named Ben Krullen who slaughtered a Vietnamese village.  This trauma caused Joshua Clay — Tempest — to activate his mutant powers and seemingly kill Krullen.  However, Krullen survives the attack and is transformed into a being of radioactive energy — Reactron.  Years later, he fights the Doom Patrol and, eventually, Supergirl.

In Post-Crisis continuity stories, the character started out as Benjamin Martin Krull and faces the Doom Patrol and Power Girl, instead of Supergirl.  Other than that modification, most of his powers and battles from the Pre-Crisis continuity still exist.  Based on the the surname of “Krull” being used, it’s obvious that Supergirl will be using this Post-Crisis version as the source material.

CBS’s Supergirl is set to premiere on October 26, 2015.  The series was developed by Greg Berlanti, Ali Adler, and Andrew Kreisberg, and will star Melissa Benoist as Kara Zor-El / Kara Danvers / Supergirl, Mehcad Brooks as James Olsen, Calista Flockhart as Cat Grant, David Harewood as Hank Henshaw, and Chyler Leigh as Alex Danvers.  Laura Benanti will having a recurring role as Alural Zore-El.  Guest stars will include Jeremy Jordan as Winslow “Winn” Schott, Helen Slater as Eliza Danvers, Dean Cain as Jeremiah Danvers, Faran Tahir as The Commander, and Owan Yeoman as Vartox.

Next: Supergirl: Behind-the-scenes set video

More from Bam Smack Pow